Disabled Javascript!  

Science Library.info

 You are reading this message because you have attempted to access a page on www.umwelt.science which requires Javascript to be enabled.

Javascript is an essential tool for much functionality on the internet, and is perfectly safe to use, since modern browsers prevent abusive use. If you have it disabled, you will not be able to run any interactive software.

You can enable it from the menubar of your browser, following these instructions: Instructions for enabling Javascript on different Browsers


Directory of International Organisations

There are many international organisations set up by the UNO or independently, which have an influence on environmental policy at all levels.

African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States ACP

International Organisation with 79 member states, mostly ex-colonies of France and Great Britain, countries in Africa, the Caribbean, and the Pacific. The group have agreed economic cooperation in the Georgetown Agreement (1975), the Lomé Agreement (1975), and the Cotonou Agreement (2000).

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe OSCE

The OSCE is an intergovernmental organisation with a mandate to control arms, promote human rights, and protect freedom of the press. It is also involved in monitoring and guaranteeing free and fair elections. It was created in 1975, and has its secretariat in Vienna. It has 57 participating states across Europe, and North America, including Russia, Canada and the USA.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development OECD

Founded in 1948 as the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC) as a regulatory body primarily concerned with implementation of the Marshall Plan, it evolved into the OECD in 1961. The OECD is a group of 34 countries, whose aim is the promote and stimulate economic development and world trade. Its policies are based on the principles of democracy and market economy.

Membership is restricted to countries with high income and high HDI (Human Development Index), and are all therefore in the bracket of developed country.

Its headquarters are in Paris, and it is regulated by the Convention on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Signatory nations are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Palestine, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.

International Union for Conservation of Nature IUCN

The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) was founded in 1948, by the then fledgling UNO, and is today the world's oldest and largest conservation organisation.

The IUCN's Red List of Threatened Species is a list of endangered species designed to advise policymakers and monitor the status of species which are or may soon be under threat of extinction.

The IUCN is an international organisation with headquarters in Gland, Switzerland. It sponsors research and instigates field projects. It is also a major venue for governments, non-government organisations, as well as any UNO or other organisation concerned with specific or general environmental and conservation issues.

Although funded by the UNO member states, it relies heavily on volunteers and mutually-beneficial cooperation with governments, organisations, and individuals, all over the globe.